My Weaving Days

For the last 6 months, I studied how to weave at school. I wanted to try it simply because it was one of the very few textile classes offered at my Uni, and I thought it will be useful for building my fashion foundation. Since it was such a time-intensive and fruitful experience, I thought it will be nice to showcase some pieces I’ve done. (And YAY for the 1st Art & Design Post!)

So what the heck is a weaving exactly?

To weave is to form a 3D structure, that is a piece of fabric, by interlacing yarns or threads into a weaving loom. A weaving is the end product, the piece of finished fabric.

Weaving is a veryyyyyyy long and sometimes tedious process. Even a small structure (4X4′) can take about more than 5 hours. And depending on the intricacy of the pattern, weaving set up, and fabric finishing, a weaving can take up to months or years to complete.

The weavings here are called Double Weaves, where there is a different set of color system on each side of the fabric. These pieces took about 3 weeks to complete and lots and lots of ice-cream comfort.

2×2 Twills, 6×12′, Mercerized Cotton Threads

2×2 Twills, 6×5′, Mercerized Cotton Threads

2×2 Twills, 6×5′, Mercerized Cotton Threads

2×2 Twills, 6×5′, Mercerized Cotton Threads

Although weaving is a really long process and it’s easy to freak out when something is not going right (Trust me, there’s a lot), I still really enjoyed it because it’s a very unique and rare art experience.

Any weavers or textile lovers here? Leave a comment below!

Leave a Reply

